Love Machine

I the interplay of the various philosophers, sexologists, writers, a religous figure’s points of view to be a very interesting way to explore the idea of “love machines”. While in the beginning of the film the focus was simpler, I believe starting with the sexologist’s views on human sexuality, this ultimately expanded by the end of the movie with the question of a machine that can love. The philosopher from Tufts had an interesting point that he believed a (very foolish) person someday will in fact fall in love with a robot, but this love could not be reciprocated.

After watching this movie I started to talk about it with my girlfriend. I asked how can a person know love? Her response was that she knew that she loved me, but then I asked how she could know that I loved her. Ultimately I think there is no real way to truly know if love outside myself (or herself) is reciprocated, and that ultimately what matter’s is that I truly believe that it is. In reference to a machine, while I do not think they will ever be able to really love naturally and spontaneously, I think a person could in fact believe that they are in love with a machine and that it is reciprocated. If that is all we have to go on to prove love (our own point of view) then who is to say that a machine and person are not in love.

Whether or not this love is real likely would not matter to whomever was in love. For example I had dated a girl that was lying about our relationship from the start a few years ago. I genuinely believed that I was in love, and that she loved me, however she had been cheating on me so my love was not returned (at least not as strongly). Still people had told me that something was weird about our relationship and yet I would not listen until I found out for myself. I think this might be the case for a human-machine relationship. I think people may find themselves in love with a machine (far in the future), and no matter what will not be convinced otherwise. I find this to be disturbing however, because if something man made can simulate love to the point where we feel that it is a balanced relationship what then is the motivation for any human-human interaction. One of the main problems with my generation is that we are so isolated from other people due to technology. Sure we can keep in touch much easier because of the internet, however this also tends to reduce the overall time we spend around other people in person. I think “love machines” would reduce human interaction even more, and this is a negative outcome in my viewpoint. Perhaps the machine will satisfy the human need for interaction, likely it would have to for a person to be convinced that they are in love with it, however the idea of a future where a person’s only interaction is with machines is unsettling to me.

2 Responses to “Love Machine”

  1. jeisemann Says:

    Ouch, that’s rough about the ex.

    In a discussion about same-sex marriage, my old teacher said his wife once said “with so many people looking for love and failing, who cares if someone happens to find it with the same sex.” He later divorced his wife; I don’t know if that’s irony or what.

    But the same point could potentially be made about robots.

    And as far as no need for human contact, I think the same argument has also been made about same-sex marriage. It turns out that the idea of two men marrying for legal purposes is considered absurd enough by society that a movie (Chuck and Larry) was made about it and was successful. Just because people might settle for robot love probably doesn’t mean that many will.

  2. stevegal Says:

    This was a good movie. The guy with the claw was one funny dude. Seriously. He kept talking about that claw and then I realized. You know what? that claw has significance. We are building AI and machines to be like us—but maybe we just want to be like them. We already spend too much time with machines and less time with nature.

Leave a Reply

